Procrastination piles on the workload…

This was written on May 4th 2009, when I really should have been doing other things.

OK so I havent updated as I’d have liked to, computer problems and the like…

But hopefully with those in the past I can kick on with this, though why I’m doing it now is beyond me. Perhaps it is just procrastination spuring me on as I try to piece together a portfolio with deadline day looming, but writing this has never seemed more attractive!

And seeing as we are on the subject why is it that everything seems better when you have other things you should be doing? I went to the Preston North End game yesterday to try and get into the playoffs, which we did in dramatic fashion (I would like to take the opportunity to point out I am a Spurs fan but being at university in Preston gives you other loyalties to juggle). Instead of doing work after the game though I celebrated until the early hours, and had a truly outstanding time – just like I did on Monday and Wednesday.

Not unusual for a student to be partying you might think but a good friend who rarely comes out made two of the three nights despite exams looming this week and revision to be done. Amazing how easy it is to be tempted out when the other option is soul destroying.

Of course being out on those nights meant the following day was a write off each time. So seeing as I can’t persuade anyone else out tonight it looks like a night in trying to work, well that is unless someone I might not generally go out with asks if I fancy it, as happened on Wednesday and very nearly Thursday too.

Of course everyone is in the same boat, with the vast majority of people revising for their exams or finishing off major coursework pieces, but it does seem that the hardest part of the year comes around just as the sun comes out, offering you lots to do with people who are in a much better mood than they normally would be and more than willing to put their own work off too.

The truth is I enjoy my course and even the work I have to do, but set me a deadline and I can think of nothing worse than doing it. Which is why I’m going to have another shower and tidy a kitchen I don’t use so I can put it off some more.

About Lanelord

I am an opinionated sports-mad 25year old news junkie who didn’t fancy spending the money to finish a Broadcast Journalism degree. I am interested in all genres of news and tend to have something to say on just about everything. I have worked in the press offices for ITV and Holby City on BBC1 as well as doing more technical jobs such as for the Digital TV Group. Having previously worked selling sports hospitality I have recently been made redundant from my job as a project manager for a global exhibition company. Whilst I work out and find my next role I thought I'd try and give this another go - this time combining the news commentary element with my own creative writing attempts Follow me on twitter at http://twitter.com/AaronKing11
This entry was posted in Pre-blog. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Procrastination piles on the workload…

  1. genobz says:

    if only the people could understand this simple concept.
    The person would know he is procrastinating but would not be unable to help himself. 😦
    hmm..
    good post btw. looking forward to more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

