Too much time in the Diary Room

This article was written during the mad period of time that the media lost touch with reality and devoted page after page to the news that Jade Goody was dying.  I mean The Sun had a special pullout of about 20 pages when she actually died.  What a waste of paper…

The news that Jade Goody only has weeks to live has touched millions of people nationwide – I know this because it is the only thing I have seen in the news for as long as I can remember.

Never mind the recession.  What, we’re fighting two wars?  You say the Oscars have been and gone?  I don’t even know if parliament is still in session…

Now please do not misunderstand me, death is cruel, particularly cancer. The pain can be excruciating and despite all the agonising treatments, sometimes, as in Jade’s case, you’re only prolonging the inevitable.

It is even sadder when you consider her two little boys will lose their mother and be left with the reprehensible Jack Tweed as a role model; on parole for assault with a golf club and awaiting trial for another.

I have every sympathy for her and her suffering family and can only imagine the heartache they are all going through and will continue to bear for as long as they live.

But my issue lies in that after making a great deal of money in a short space of time. She continues to prostitute herself to the media, forcing upon us relentless documentation of her dying days- as she has done with every life event since reaching “stardom” as that ignorant Essex plank from the unfailingly appalling Big Brother.

Eighteen months ago I thought we had finally rid the media of her. The she appeared on a celebrity version of Big Brother (how did that happen?) reaffirming she’s still as still thick as the proverbial and a bullying racist to boot.

Surely now I thought, we could see the back of her and just put up with that other numpty Jordan instead.  I could handle it if only one of them is telling me every week they have found love… or happiness… or Wally.

But no, determined as ever to make a name for herself (and god knows she has no discernible talent with which to do it) she decided to go on Indian Big Brother so as to better educate herself about different cultures.

Now before anyone says I’m being too harsh or “she’s only doing this to pay her children through their education/ future/ etc” tell me, where is all her money from brand Goody? Big Brother, TV appearances, the perfume, the books, the interviews…. All generating a lucrative income neither you nor I are privy to.

She previously held little regard for her privacy but has now turned a terminal illness into a warts and all circus… I mean she was given her test results live on India’s celebrity Big Brother!

I honestly do hope she finds peace and that her family learn to live with her passing.  It won’t be easy but with the right support the boys can have a normal and well rounded life.

As for Jade, I can only hope that the next few weeks are as painless and happy as is possible for her.

In the meantime could she please spend her dying days with the family she so clearly adores and let me get back to reading news that I actually want to read.  My criticisms aren’t just aimed at her but the hypocrisy of the media industry as well.  A year ago she was viewed on a par with Hitler; now we have “Jade’s legacy” inThe Sun and “The Wedding of the year” in the News of the World – give me a break.

Such is the state of our celebrity obsession I fear for a day not far from now when the papers campaign for “Jade’s Jam” at Hyde Park or a water fountain for us all to remember her by.  When that happens book me a train to London, I’m going in the Big Brother house to get away from the lunacy.

About Lanelord

I am an opinionated sports-mad 25year old news junkie who didn’t fancy spending the money to finish a Broadcast Journalism degree. I am interested in all genres of news and tend to have something to say on just about everything. I have worked in the press offices for ITV and Holby City on BBC1 as well as doing more technical jobs such as for the Digital TV Group. Having previously worked selling sports hospitality I have recently been made redundant from my job as a project manager for a global exhibition company. Whilst I work out and find my next role I thought I'd try and give this another go - this time combining the news commentary element with my own creative writing attempts Follow me on twitter at http://twitter.com/AaronKing11
This entry was posted in Pre-blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

