Giving up smoking…

I have been a smoker for 5 years.  Slightly longer actually but that’s not important.

I smoke 20 a day, have done for the entirety of my smoking.  Now we all know the health side effects, such as dying, but the truth is I enjoy smoking.  I like having a cigarette to break up my day, I enjoy the rare bit of thinking time you get smoking by yourself, it is a truly brilliant way to meet new people and it is particularly pleasant when sipping a pint of San Miguel in the sunshine.

It is also a fantastic stress reliever.  I don’t know why anyone would want to give up…

However, after much thought, and the fact that I spend £2,800 a year on something that is killing me, I have decided to cut my losses.  Using an online calculator I discovered that over the last five years I have spent about £12,000 on these little fitness sticks and smoked roughly 35,000 of them.

Where I used to be ridiculously fit and covering every blade on the football pitch I now prefer to make the easier and  less effective runs, I am no longer a fan of closing someone down and I would rather take a booking for a cynical foul than chase after someone who has gone past me.  Granted some of this is down to drinking but let’s handle one vice at a time!

So for mainly financial reasons I am now replacing each cigarette with a mug of coffee, or two minutes of fresh air.  I haven’t tried to give up before but I don’t believe in the stop-smoking aids.  I will work out my own way to do it.  Thus I am at work with no cigarettes to tempt me, and there isn’t a shop for a mile.  Tonight I will run somewhere.  Then I will drink lots because otherwise I won’t sleep because of all the caffeine.

And once I am no longer addicted to nicotine I will allow myself a couple of fags when I go to the pub.  If I can go from 20 a day to 10 a week I’ll have won.  That is my aim, but it first means going cold turkey.  Besides I can’t quit completely because quitters never win.

The problem I guess is that I am used to having less money because I have smoked for as long as I’ve worked, and though serious health problems could manifest themselves tomorrow, at the age of 23 they are impossible to get my head around.

I will probably use this blog as a bit of a vent and detached from the usual writing.  Today is the first day of my first attempt to give up smoking.  And I’m pretty pissed off at my decision.

About Lanelord

I am an opinionated sports-mad 25year old news junkie who didn’t fancy spending the money to finish a Broadcast Journalism degree. I am interested in all genres of news and tend to have something to say on just about everything. I have worked in the press offices for ITV and Holby City on BBC1 as well as doing more technical jobs such as for the Digital TV Group. Having previously worked selling sports hospitality I have recently been made redundant from my job as a project manager for a global exhibition company. Whilst I work out and find my next role I thought I'd try and give this another go - this time combining the news commentary element with my own creative writing attempts Follow me on twitter at http://twitter.com/AaronKing11
This entry was posted in Stories and anecdotes, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Giving up smoking…

  1. Val says:

    Good luck with this. I was a much heavier smoker than you are (80 a day at one stage. Yes!) and I stopped twice, the last time for good. My reasons were health ones – not that I thought it would kill me – but because I kept getting sore throats and could no longer function with them.

    The stopping and then imagining you can go back to two a day for pleasure won’t work – nicotine is a drug and will still build up again in your body and cause you to crave more. But you know better than I what you body can do! 😉

    Be prepared for (possibly) some horrible days then you won’t be surprised by them. The first time I stopped it was sheer hell, the second time I barely noticed.

    And yeah, I know the feeling while you’re still a smoker of the various pleasures of it. Like everything else, after time they ease off and other things take their place. Try to think back to before you smoked and the things you enjoyed then and the way that you hadn’t know about them before you discovered them. More will arrive to take the place of the smoking. 🙂

    • lanelord says:

      80 ciggies a day! I’m impressed you found the time! It’s a pipe dream perhaps, I just enjoy having a social fag, hence why the two a day would be lovely! Probably not realistic though. Thank you for your good wishes though, I’ll keep you posted. If you can give up 80 a day I should be able to do 20!!!

  2. Matt Conlon says:

    Best of luck sir! I have never been a smoker, but I certainly have my vices… If someone told me I’d have to quit ice cream, I’d probably strangle them.

Leave a Reply

